Animated Origami Fish

My original concept vs the final project was completely different, but the core idea remained.  It translates a lot better now!  Plus, it flows with the rest of the ad campaign.

I made hundreds of origami fish to the point of hand cramps.  Then, I went outside to do a photoshoot with them only to find the world too windy.  I waited for a few weeks to get a good day and it just never came.  So, instead, I took a photo of one of the fish, added a video to it, animated it, and tossed it into an animated ocean.  This whole thing was done in After Effects and Illustrator (Illustrator to separate the parts out–although I look back at it now and wonder why I didn’t use Photoshop, because layers will translate into After Effects with that program, too).

Trapcodes from Red Giant probably would have made this a bit easier and cleaner, but I did find alternatives instead of investing a couple hundreds dollars that I should really be saving right now!  Thank goodness for Adobe’s latest CC add ons, the ones that come with the last update.

So, if anyone is curious, CC Particle World can help replace Trapcode Particular, and CC Light Rays can help create this, which replaced Trapcode Shine.

Now, maybe tomorrow I can have my universe created!

This entry was published on January 2, 2016 at 5:18 pm. It’s filed under Motion Design and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Animated Origami Fish

  1. Pingback: Recycle Bank: Conceptual Ad Campaign | Stop Making Me Fat Blog

Leave a comment